Ohio News – 24 Officers Graduate from Patrol’s Basic Peace Officer Class

Ohio MediaColumbus – Members of the 133rd Basic Peace Officer Class received training certificates during a graduation ceremony held Friday afternoon at the Ohio State Highway Patrol Academy. The 24 graduates will assume duties as peace officers for 14 Ohio agencies.

The 19-week basic course began in February. The course was developed by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and offers comprehensive instruction in more than 150 topics, including criminal law, traffic law, community relations, physical training, self-defense, firearms, emergency vehicle operations, standardized field sobriety testing, and electronic speed measuring devices.

Officer John E. Betts, Lakewood Police Department, was selected as class speaker by his fellow class members and addressed the assembly.

Class honors went to the following:

Overall Top Performer – Anthony D. Dann, Springfield Police Department
Top Academics – DeGerald L. Edwards, Upper Arlington Police Department
Top Firearms – Kenneth D. Bills, Gahanna Police Department
Top Physical Fitness – DeGerald L. Edwards, Upper Arlington Police Department
Top Driving – Kenneth D. Bills, Gahanna Police Department

Chief Keith C. Torbet, Wauseon Police Department, was the featured speaker for the ceremony and addressed an audience of graduates, friends, relatives and law enforcement officers. Colonel Paul A. Pride, Patrol superintendent, provided remarks and presented the certificates of training to the graduates.


First Name, MI Last Name Agency Hometown
Kevin F Ackerman Brecksville Police Department Strongsville
Michael J. Adams Delaware Police Department Akron
John E. Betts Lakewood Police Department Medina
Kenneth D. Bills Gahanna Police Department Massillon
Justin S. Clikity Mansfield Police Department Akron
Anthony D. Dann Springfield Police Department Beavercreek
DeGerald L. Edwards Upper Arlington Police Department Columbus
Carl M. Festa Wooster Police Department Auburn, New York
Dustin L. Gerdau Cambridge Police Department Cambridge
Jacob J. Hogan Mansfield Police Department Mansfield
Trenton A. Holbrook Springfield Police Department Springfield
Daniel R. Jones Upper Arlington Police Department Grove City
Marcus A. Loel Centerville Police Department Frankfort
Cody J. McFall Springfield Police Department Springfield
Kevin D. Miller Springfield Police Department Springfield
Kelly N. Murnane Ohio Investigative Unit Hilliard
Lucas C. Porter Fairview Park Police Department Portsmouth
Carla M. Ragone Medina Police Department North Royalton
Devin C. Ryan Cambridge Police Department Santa Cruz, California
Luke A. Schwarz Springfield Police Department Springfield
Travis D. Stantz Mansfield Police Department Mansfield
Heather M. Swinehart Mansfield Police Department Bucyrus
Jordan J. Vetomskie Defiance Police Department Medina
Nichole M. Wells Centerville Police Department Indianapolis, Indiana
Jodie R. Williams Mansfield Police Department Mansfield

Leave a Reply